Market


For products and services that have successfully been introduced to the market between 2011 and the closing date for inscriptions for the Design Preis Schweiz 2013.

Newcomer


For products and services that are shortly to be introduced to the market. Projects by young designers who have yet to make a name for themselves on the market will also be taken into account.

Research


For projects in the field of applied design research, theory of design and history of design that are characterised by innovative methods or new realisations and make a positive contribution to the discussion of design.

Merit


For continuous services in the field of design. Eligible are designer personalities, important design studios, highly regarded companies and also theoreticians who have had a clear influence on the history and present state of design in Switzerland.

This prize is a straight nomination; it is not possible to apply for it.

Awards


The Awards aim to set-off additional impulses by honouring specific criterions in given design-disciplines. The Awards are underlie the independent adjudication


Textile Design Award by
SWISS TEXTILES & ZUMSTEG FOUNDATION

(Total prize fund, CHF 100,000)

a) For innovative solutions involving textile surface structures - e.g. fabrics, textile floorings and carpets. This prize is given to an outstanding textile product which has already been launched or is soon to be launched on the market, and which achieves particular distinction through the material combinations, functions or techniques used. The award is aimed at the textiles industry.

b) For innovative projects in the textiles sector. This prize is given to projects by young designers, as well as students and graduates of technical colleges and universities. The award is aimed at talented designers of the up-and-coming generation.

Particular attention is dedicated to the designer's sense of responsibility in dealing with natural resources.

RADO Product Design Award


(Prize fund CHF 25,000)

For industrial products that are distinguished by an innovative approach to the materials or combination of materials, functionality or manufacturing technique. The prize is aimed at industry and the talented younger generation of industrial designers.

PFISTER Interior Design Award


(Prize fund CHF 25,000)

For projects in the interior design sector. The prize is awarded to an outstanding interior design product that achieves distinction through the highest standards of quality, contemporary creativity and individuality. The prize is aimed chiefly at talented designers of the up-and-coming generation.

Subscription for these prizes cannot be made. The awards will be selected from inscriptions for the prize categories newcomer and market.

Market


Für Produkte und Dienstleistungen, die ihre Markttaufe zwischen 2009 und dem Einsendeschluss für den Design Preis Schweiz 2013 erfolgreich bestanden haben.


Newcomer


Für Produkte und Dienstleistungen, die kurz vor der Markteinführung stehen. Es werden auch Projekte junger Designerinnen und Designer, die sich auf dem Markt erst noch behaupten wollen, berücksichtigt.



Research


Für Projekte im Bereich der angewandten Design-forschung, der Designtheorie und der Designgeschichte, die sich durch innovative Methoden bzw. Erkenntnisse auszeichnen und den Designdiskurs befruchten.

Merit


Für die Auszeichnung Merit kann man sich nicht bewerben. Es handelt sich um einen Nominationspreis. Für eine kontinuierliche Designleistung. In Frage kommen Designer-Persönlichkeiten, bedeutende Ateliers, namhafte Unternehmen, aber auch Theoretiker, die nachweislich die Geschichte und die Gegenwart des Schweizer Designs mitgeprägt haben.


Awards


Durch die Würdigung spezifischer Qualitäten verleihen die Awards in spezifischen Designdisziplinen zusätzliche Impulse. Die Awards unterliegen dem unabhängien Jurierungsprozess.




Textile Design Award by

SWISS TEXTILES & ZUMSTEG FOUNDATION


(Gesamt-Preissumme CHF 100'000)

a) Für innovative Lösungen von textilen Flächengebilden, wie Stoffe, textile Bodenbeläge und Teppiche. Prämiert wird ein herausragendes Textilprodukt, das bereits im Markt eingeführt ist oder kurz vor der Markteinführung steht und sich in Bereichen wie Materialkombinationen, Funktionen oder Techniken auszeichnet. Der Award richtet sich an die Textilindustrie.

b) Für innovative Projekte im Textilbereich.
Ausgezeichnet werden Projekte von Jung-Designern, Studierenden und Absolventen von Fachhochschulen oder Universitäten. Der Award richtet sich an den talentierten Design-Nachwuchs. Ein besonderes Augenmerk wird auf den verantwortungsbewussten Umgang mit natürlichen Ressourcen gelegt.


RADO Product Design Award


(Preissumme CHF 25'000)

Für Industrieprodukte, die sich durch eine Innovation hinsichtlich Material, Materialkombination, Funktion oder Herstellungstechnik auszeichnen. Der Preis richtet sich an die Industrie und den talentierten Designer-Nachwuchs.

PFISTER Interior Design Award


(Preissumme CHF 25'000)

Für Projekte aus dem Bereich Inneneinrichtung. Prämiert wird ein herausragendes Einrichtungsprodukt, das sich durch höchste Qualität, gekonntes Handwerk, zeitgenössische Kreativität und Individualität auszeichnen. Der Preis richtet sich hauptsächlich an den talentierten Designer-Nachwuchs.

Für diese Auszeichnungen kann man sich nicht bewerben. Die Awards werden aus den Einsendungen für die Preiskategorien Newcomer und Market ausgewählt.