Design Prize Switzerland was held in 1991 for the first time. The competition, which is held every two years, is designed to boost the importance of Swiss design, so prizes are awarded for outstanding performance in seven professional fields. The competition does not see itself as being just a prize contest - at the same time it is an institution which aims, through the award of prizes, to establish Swiss design more firmly in the economy.

 

In a two-phase procedure, the projects submitted are nominated by acknowledged specialists for consideration by the jury. The jury, composed of international experts, then awards prizes to the best of the nominated works. Entries for the competition come from Swiss designers, companies and institutions based in Switzerland or abroad, as well as designers from other countries who are working in Switzerland. Products that have been made in Switzerland are also eligible for entry. As a result, Design Prize Switzerland achieves a broad spectrum of competition entrants and a wide relevance. Diploma projects are represented, as are commercial brands, manufacturers and institutions.

 

The high prestige of Design Prize Switzerland in the Swiss design scene is based on its being focused on the market economy, and on the fact that it undergone ongoing development. Its increase in significance is also partly attributable to the international travelling exhibition, which drew a lot of attention to the prizewinning entries in 2009 and 2011.  The travelling exhibition is designed to open up growth potential in markets abroad.

Der Design Preis Schweiz wurde 1991 zum ersten Mal vergeben. Der biennal stattfindende Wettbewerb will die Bedeutung des Schweizer Designs stärken und prämiert deshalb herausragende Leistungen in sieben Berufsfeldern. Er versteht sich nicht alleine als Auszeichnung, sondern ebenso als Institution, die mit ihren Prämierungen Schweizer Design stärker in der Wirtschaft verankert.

 

In einem zweistufigen Verfahren werden die eingegebenen Projekte von anerkannten Fachpersonen zu Handen der Juroren nominiert. Die international zusammengesetzte Jury prämiert anschliessend die Arbeiten. Dem Wettbewerb stellen sich Schweizer Designschaffende, Unternehmen und Institutionen, die hier oder im Ausland tätig sind sowie ausländische Designer, die in der Schweiz arbeiten. Zugelassen sind auch Produkte, die in der Schweiz hergestellt werden. Damit erzielt der Design Preis Schweiz ein breites Spektrum an Wettbewerbsteilnehmern und eine breite Relevanz; Diplomarbeiten sind ebenso vertreten wie Handelsmarken, Produzenten oder Institute.

 

Der hohe Stellenwert des Design Preis Schweiz in der Helvetischen Designlandschaft begründet sich in seiner marktwirtschaftlichen Ausrichtung und der konstanten Weiterentwicklung. Seine Bedeutungszunahme ist auch auf die internationale Wanderausstellung zurückzuführen, die den Preisen 2009 und 2011 im In- und Ausland grosse Aufmerksamkeit eintrug. Mit der Wanderausstellung wird beabsichtigt, Wachstumspotenziale in ausländischen Märkten zu erschliessen.