Communication Design – Market

Reportagen, Weltgeschehen im Kleinformat.

[Reports - world events in a nutshell]

Konzeption und Gestaltung eines Magazins


Moiré Grafik GmbH
Marc Kappeler, Dominik Huber, Ruth Amstutz

The magazine Reportagen [Reports] has been coming out every two months since 2011. It is focused on the journalistic genre of literary reporting. The design emphasises the special nature of the publishing concept and makes the magazine distinctively unique. The handy format and choice of materials - linen binding and uncoated paper - and the single-column layout align the magazine with the printed book.  The cover, which also serves as a table of contents, is purely typographically based, pointing to the character of the magazine as a text medium. By contrast with usual marketing strategies, there are no photographs. Instead, the magazine relies on illustrations and infographics. A specially developed font aimed at maximum readability is another identifying feature.

Comments by the jury:

This magazine is deliberately committed to a genre of journalism that is increasingly under threat in the media world of today: literary reporting - a profoundly researched text format, imbued with its own observations and combining description and analysis. The idea of the magazine is convincing in itself, and it has been harmoniously realised. The decision to do without photography, which has been replaced by other pictorial media such as illustrative diagrams and graphics, is a consistent one. The entire appearance of the magazine - above all the handy format and reader-friendly typography - makes you want to read it and encourages you to get to grips with the text. The success of Reportagen - one aspect of which is its qualifying for a Design Prize Switzerland award - underlines the relevance of the project.


Comments by the Nominators:
The designers, who were also involved with the publishing work, have made a considerable contribution to the quality and uniqueness of the magazine. Along with other convincing choices, the decision to use illustrations and infographics in this medium instead of photographs underlines the literary character of the texts.

www.reportagen.com
overall view

next project

Download

Communication Design – Market

Reportagen, Weltgeschehen im Kleinformat.

Konzeption und Gestaltung eines Magazins


Moiré Grafik GmbH
Marc Kappeler, Dominik Huber, Ruth Amstutz


Das seit 2011 in zweimonatigem Rhythmus erscheinende Magazin „Reportagen“ ist auf die journalistische Gattung der literarischen Reportage fokussiert. Die Gestaltung verdeutlicht die Besonderheit des verlegerischen Konzepts und macht das Magazin unverwechselbar. Das handliche Format und die Materialwahl - Leineneinband und ungestrichenes Papier – sowie der einspaltige Satzspiegel nehmen Bezug auf Lesebücher. Das rein typografisch umgesetzte Cover, das auch als Inhaltsverzeichnis dient, verweistauf den Charakter des Magazins als Textmedium. In Abgrenzung von gängigen Marketingstrategien wird auf Fotografien verzichtet. Stattdessen baut man auf Illustrationen und Infografiken. Eine eigens entwickelte Schrift, die auf optimale Lesbarkeit ausgerichtet ist, wirkt als identitätsbildendes Merkmal.

Kommentar der Jury:

Dieses Magazin setzt ganz entschieden auf ein in der heutigen Medienlandschaft immer stärker bedrohtes journalistisches Genre: die literarische Reportage - ein profund recherchiertes, durch eigene Anschauung gesättigtes Textformat, das Beschreibung und Analyse verbindet. Das Konzept von Reportagen ist in sich schlüssig und auf stimmige Weise umgesetzt: Der Verzicht auf die Fotografie, die durch andere Bildmedien wie Illustration und Infografik ersetzt wird, ist konsequent. Die gesamte Aufmachung des Magazins, vor allem das handliche Format und die lesefreundliche Typo, wecken die Lust aufs Lesen und fördern die Auseinandersetzung mit den Texten. Der Erfolg von Reportagen, der auch in der Verleihung des Designpreis Schweiz zum Ausdruck kommt, bestätigt die Relevanz des Projektes.


Kommentar der Nominatoren:
Die Designer, die hier auch in die verlegerische Arbeit mit einbezogen sind, leisten einen erheblichen Beitrag zur Qualität und zur Einzigartigkeit des Magazins. Die Entscheidung, in diesem Medium statt Fotografien Illustrationen und Infografiken zu nutzen, unterstreicht – neben anderen überzeugenden Massnahmen – den literarischen Charakter der Texte.

www.reportagen.com
Übersicht

nächstes Projekt

Download