Market

On


Thilo Alex Brunner for On

The running shoes of the young Swiss company On are based on a completely novel idea - with a soft landing and hard push-off. On's patented technology combines comfort with performance. The product unites the advantages of a soft training shoe with those of a tough competition shoe. This is achieved by means of hollow elements in the sole, which respond to ground impact by expanding towards the heel to guarantee a soft landing, at the same time closing and meshing together internally to reconstitute a hard support. In this way the shoe enables the foot to push off powerfully from the ground. The design of the running shoes serves to make this fundamentally simple technical idea intuitively accessible and visible to the eye. The upper shoe, on the other hand, is formally restrained, being limited to an intelligent support of the shoe's functionality.


Comments by the jury:

The market for running shoes is overcrowded and hotly contested - so when a new brand comes along and takes the market by storm, the innovation behind it must convey a promise which it manages to keep - a shoe with qualities never heard of before. In this case a clever design idea has proved capable of competing against the million-strong budgets which the big brands in the industry assign to research and marketing. The straightforward design of the shoe deliberately refrains from indulgence in stylistic frills, and is wholly consistent in focusing on the basic functional requirements. The attention is drawn to the sole, which here constitutes the crucially important element.


Comments by the Nominators:

This is a running shoe that does not just adopt the industrial standards of the big established manufacturers, but represents a completely free approach starting from scratch. The innovation has already met with a positive response from many top athletes, and has been consistently realised in the product as well as in in the development of the brand.


www.thiloalexbrunner.ch

www.on-running.com
overall view

next project

Download

Product Design – Market

On


Thilo Alex Brunner for On



Die Laufschuhe des jungen Schweizer Unternehmens On basieren auf einer völlig neuartigen Idee: weich landen und hart abstossen. Die patentierte Technologie von On kombiniert Komfort und Performance. Die Vorteile eines weichen Trainingsschuhs werden mit dem eines harten Wettkampfschuhs vereint. Dies wird durch hohlförmige Sohlenelemente erreicht, die sich beim Aufprall auf dem Boden für eine weiche Landung rückwärts dehnen, sich dabei schliessen und im Innern zu einer harten Unterlage verzahnen. Auf diese Weise ermöglicht die Sohle dann einen kraftvollen Abstoss des Fusses. Das Design der Laufschuhe sorgt dafür, diese im Prinzip einfache technische Grundidee intuitiv begreifbar und sichtbar zu machen. Der Oberschuh hält sich dagegen formal zurück und beschränkt sich auf eine intelligente Unterstützung der Funktion.


Kommentar der Jury:

Wenn es im gesättigten und hart umkämpften Markt für Laufschuhe gelingt, eine neue Marke erfolgreich zu lancieren, dann muss die damit verbundene Innovation halten, was sie verspricht: einen Schuh mit noch nie da gewesenen Qualitäten. Hier hat sich eine clevere konstruktive Idee gegen die Millionenetats durchgesetzt, die von den grossen Brands der Branche für Forschung und Marketing ausgegeben werden. Das gradlinige Design der Schuhe, das bewusst auf jeden Styling-Firlefanz verzichtet, folgt konsequent funktionalen Anforderungen. Die Aufmerksamkeit wird auf die Sohle gerichtet - das Element des Schuhes, auf das es hier ankommt. 

   

Kommentar der Nominatoren:

Ein Laufschuhdesign, das nicht die Industriestandards der etablierten, grossen Hersteller übernimmt, sondern ganz frei von vorne anfängt. Die Innovation, die bei vielen Spitzenathleten Anklang findet, wird im Produkt, aber auch in der Markenentwicklung konsequent umgesetzt.


www.thiloalexbrunner.ch
www.on-running.com
Übersicht

nächstes Projekt

Download