Research

Dolografie.

Ein visuelles Kommunikations-Instrument zur Beschreibung von Schmerz.

[Dolorography – a visual communication instrument for the description of pain]


Sabine Affolter, Katja Rüfenacht
In cooperation with
Inselspital Bern,
Hochschule der Künste Bern [Berne Art College]

'Dolorography' was first developed as a BA thesis and subsequently continued as an MA thesis at Berne College of the Arts. It is a visual instrument which supports and facilitates speaking about the different elements of pain. It consists of a series of abstract images which deliberately avoid unambiguous semantic identification and so encourage the person who sees them to supplement them with spoken descriptions. The strength of these images which have been specially developed by the designers lies in their lack of definition. In this way they serve as a projection screen onto which patients can project their associations. Practical tests at the Berne Island Hospital have been successful in demonstrating the therapeutic usefulness of the system. It can be seen as a diagnostic option which goes beyond conventional anamnesis.

Comments by the jury:

Using the resources of visual communication, a completely novel kind of tool for the diagnosis and therapy of pain has been created. The specially developed images make an abstract statement, but still function as an altogether useful vehicle for patients suffering from pain, making it possible for them to convey what they are going through. The way in which the method was developed and tried out in cooperation with doctors is admirable. The idea of 'pain pictures' is a surprising one. In our day above all, where the treatment of pain is a matter of ever-increasing medical importance, there can be no doubt at all of its relevance. It would be highly desirable if this project could be further developed and elaborated.


Comments by the Nominators:
The images created under the auspices of this project translate the sensation of pain into visual stimuli, and so make the phenomenon perceptible for persons who are not directly affected. But first and foremost the pictures encourage dialogue about pain between patients and doctors.

www.dolografie.com
overall view

next project

Download

Interdisciplinary Design – Research

Dolografie.

Ein visuelles Kommunikations-Instrument zur Beschreibung von Schmerz.


Sabine Affolter, Katja Rüfenacht
In Zusammenarbeit mit:
Inselspital Bern
Hochschule der Künste Bern



Die Dolorografie, die im Rahmen einer Bachelor-Thesis an der Hochschule der Künste in Bern entwickelt und dort in einer Master-Thesis weitergeführt wurde, ist ein visuelles Instrument, welches das Sprechen über die verschiedenen Komponenten von Schmerzen ermöglicht bzw. fördert. Es besteht aus einer Reihe abstrakter Bilder, die sich bewusst einer semantischen Eindeutigkeit entziehen und damit den Betrachter zu einer sprachlichen Ergänzung auffordern. Auf diese Weise bieten sie sich als Projektionsfläche für Assoziationen an, in die Betroffene ihre Schmerzerfahrungen & -empfindungen hineintragen können. Durch Praxistests am Inselspital Bern konnte nachgewiesen werden, dass die Dolorografie therapeutischen Gehalt hat und deren diagnostische Möglichkeiten über die konventionelle Anamnese hinausgehen.


Kommentar der Jury:

Hier ist mit den Mitteln der visuellen Kommunikation ein völlig neuartiges Tool für die Diagnose und Therapie von Schmerzen entstanden. Die speziell entwickelten, in ihrer Aussage abstrakten Bilder scheinen für die Schmerz- patienten ein überaus nützliches Vehikel zu sein, um über ihr Leiden zu sprechen. Die Erarbeitung und Erprobung der Methode in Kooperation mit Medizinern ist vorbildlich. Die Idee der „Schmerzbilder“ überrascht und besitzt gerade in unserer Zeit, in der die Schmerzbehandlung in der Medizin immer wichtiger wird, eine unbestreitbar grosse Relevanz. Eine Weiterentwicklung des Projektes wäre in hohem Masse wünschenswert.


Kommentar der Nominatoren:

Die im Rahmen dieser Arbeit geschaffenen Bilder übersetzen das Schmerzempfinden in visuelle Reize und machen das Phänomen so auch für nicht direkt Betroffene erfahrbar. Vor allem aber erleichtern und fördern die Bilder den Dialog über den Schmerz zwischen Betroffenen und Ärzten.


www.dolografie.com
Übersicht

nächstes Projekt

Download