Market

ETAGE shelf


Design Moritz Schmid
Röthlisberger Kollektion

ETAGE is completely made out of wood. In typological terms, this article of furniture can be seen as a cross between a shelf and a sideboard. A conspicuous feature that immediately meets the eye is its basic oval form, which is emphasised by the unusual positioning of the supports. But the real original feature of ETAGE is a surrounding shell made of moulded plywood, which covers a horizontal segment of the structure at all times. With the help of a slide, it can be moved up or down along the supports, which have been formed into rails, and so fixed in different positions. Removable shelves and book supports underline the functionality of this highly versatile storage unit.


Comments by the jury:

This design illustrates three major trends in today's furniture design simultaneously: the retro wave in its appearance, the popularity of wood in the choice of materials and the high value placed on craftsmanlike skills in the way it has been produced. The idea that has been realised here of combining two classic furniture types - the shelf and the sideboard - is an original one, and we are impressed by the way it succeeds in practice. This highly versatile and adaptable article of furniture can also serve as a model example of the quality of contemporary Swiss furniture-making.


Comments by the Nominators:

ETAGE stands for an innovative type of furniture. In formal terms, the design alludes to the typical formal idiom of the craft workshop and yet at the same time makes a wholly contemporary impression. The elegant appearance of the unit is convincing, and its craftsmanlike perfection impresses.


www.moritzschmid.com

www.roethlisberger.ch
overall view

next project

Download

Furniture Design – Market

ETAGE Regal


Design Moritz Schmid
Röthlisberger Kollektion


Das gänzlich aus Holz hergestellte Möbelstück ETAGE kann typologisch als Kreuzung zwischen einem Regal und einem Sideboard beschrieben werden. Auffällig ist zunächst seine ovale Grundform, die durch die ungewöhnliche Anordnung der Stützen betont wird. Die eigentliche Besonderheit von ETAGE aber ist eine aus formgepresstem Sperrholz gefertigte, umlaufende Hülle, die stets ein horizontales Segment der Konstruktion verdeckt. Mit Hilfe eines Schiebers lässt sie sich entlang der als Schienen ausgebildeten Stützen nach oben bzw. nach unten bewegen und dabei in verschiedenen Positionen arretieren. Herausnehmbare Tablare und Buchstützen unterstützen die Funktionalität des vielseitig verwendbaren Staumöbels.

Kommentar der Jury:
Dieser Entwurf reflektiert gleich drei grosse Trends im heutigen Möbeldesign: die Retro-Welle in seiner Anmutung, die Popularität des Holzes in der Materialwahl und die Wertschätzung handwerklichen Könnens in seiner Machart. Die hier realisierte Idee, zwei klassische Möbeltypen - Regal und Sideboard - miteinander zu kombinieren, ist originell und überzeugt in der konkreten Umsetzung. Das vielfältig nutz- und einsetzbare Möbelstück darf daneben auch als Musterbeispiel für die Qualität der zeitgenössischen Schweizer Möbelkunst gelten.

Kommentar der Nominatoren:
ETAGE steht für einen neuartigen Möbeltypus. Die formale Gestaltung nimmt Bezug auf die typische Formensprache der Manufaktur und wirkt doch ganz zeitgenössisch. Das Möbel überzeugt durch seine elegante Erscheinung und begeistert durch handwerkliche Perfektion.

www.moritzschmid.com
www.roethlisberger.ch
Übersicht

nächstes Projekt

Download